A drop in the ocean

A deeper understanding of work and business

This is a little story about how Lord helped me understand why I should be working. There was a period while my relationship with my manager was bad. So the work which I did was not appreciated. It was also evident that I would neither get a good hike nor a good bonus at the end of the year. All my friends including some friends who are in the higher managerial ladder advised me to either switch teams or switch company. With these things rolling in the mind, work at office seemed dull. Every morning as I begin to start to office, above reasoning will go on in the mind and my complete energy would be lost with no answer. SriMurthy Bhagvan makes decisions for me. He, on the contrary to others said me not to change the team. Without knowing why I should work, I could not get on.

One fine morning, I sat before SriMurthy Bhagvan and said that am out of answers. I had thought enough and unable to find an answer why I should be working. It was already a dull period of a week. While I sat blank without answers, suddenly a realization flashed. It said that, I working or business is nothing but people helping each other. Every single person is blessed by the Lord with some skill (through college, courses, individual learning etc.) which may look to be due to his decision or it just happened due to coincidences. But however one might have got this skill, it has come to him beyond his free-will. Businesses, money etc. have been in place to make sure people help each other.
Once this had hit the mind, the work just started to go on. Learning was automatic since, if I do have to help people in a better manner, I better be skilled. While helping people, the smallest thanks for anything I did gave a lot of happiness. While still the relationship with my manager was bad, Bhagvan helped me correct that too explaining me the truth – http://chenthill.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/setting-right-relationships/ . As and when the realization hits, the energy just boosts up. Its all about making people happy by helping each other.

The work at office and the helping people outside remains the same now. The salary, bonus and hike are nothing but a Token of Thanks. Should there be a comparison with each other with Token of thanks, I guess no. If I realize I need a better Token of thanks, I can always ask for it and make decisions without hurting any relationship, for its all about helping people :-)

Thanks to Lakshmi Prabhaji who urged me to write this down. Hope this might help some people :-)

Written by chenthill

November 7, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Posted in fun, learning

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 745 other followers

